Read R.J. Wood's First Book!


R.J. Wood's first book series, The Voyages of Jake Flynn, follows the journey of a 12-year-old boy who discovers that life on Earth isn't as extraordinary as everyone thought. Transported by the mere power of a sailboat, Jake magically flies into space on a mission to find his long-lost parents. There he stumbles upon an entirely different galaxy filled with friends, foes, and even his own destiny.

Find out more about R.J. Wood


Blog Reviews of Destiny's Gambit

Destiny’s Gambit was fast paced, enjoyable adventurous sci-fi with creative world and smooth writing that all young reader would love to explore.
— Books Teacup and Reviews
The characters are fantastic and fun to read. The plot is solid and keeps with familiar beats while managing to feel fresh.
— Mandy Peterson's Publicly Private Thoughts
The characters are interesting and diverse, and the puzzles they face draw you in. I think younger readers, in particular, will really dig this story.
— I read too much! (Good Reads)
What I like most about Jake’s story is the well-thought-out plot and how action-packed it is.
— Life of A Simple Reader


Voyage #1: Destiny's Gambit

Twelve-year-old Jake Flynn's parents disappeared when he was a baby. On his twelfth birthday, the mystery of why his parents disappeared begins to unravel when he discovers a glowing talisman with a message from his father...

Learn More →