Read R.J. Wood's First Book Series!


R.J. Wood's first book series, The Voyages of Jake Flynn, follows the journey of a 12-year-old boy who discovers that life on Earth isn't as extraordinary as everyone thought. Transported by the mere power of a sailboat, Jake magically flies into space on a mission to find his long-lost parents. There, he stumbles upon an entirely different galaxy filled with friends, foes, and even his own destiny.

Find out more about R.J. Wood


Blog Reviews of Destiny's Gambit

Destiny’s Gambit was a fast paced, enjoyable, adventurous sci-fi with creative world and smooth writing that all young readers would love to explore.
— Books Teacup and Reviews
The characters are fantastic and fun to read. The plot is solid and keeps with familiar beats while managing to feel fresh.
— Mandy Peterson's Publicly Private Thoughts
The characters are interesting and diverse, and the puzzles they face draw you in. I think younger readers, in particular, will really dig this story.
— I read too much! (Good Reads)
What I like most about Jake’s story is the well-thought-out plot and how action-packed it is.
— Life of A Simple Reader


Voyage #1: Destiny's Gambit

Twelve-year-old Jake Flynn's parents disappeared when he was a baby. On his twelfth birthday, the mystery of why his parents disappeared begins to unravel when he discovers a glowing talisman with a message from his father...

Learn More →


Voyage #2: Beyond the Moon

Voyage #2

Jake's voyages continue on the other side of the galaxy after the battle above the ice planet, Nystal. Jake and crew have recently escaped from the Crimson Cabal . He now sets course for new planets in search of allies who will stand with him and help stop the cabal from resurrecting the long dead queen...

Learn More →